Sugar Boys Cops President's Cup

BVI Platinum News | 0 Opinions
Published: February 14, 2017 12:45 pm AST
Photo Credit: BVIFA
Following their loss to Islanders for the championship title of this year’s National Football League, Sugar Boys came back with a vengeance and defeated Islanders to claim the President’s Cup.

Sugar boys defeated Islanders 1 nil in the final game of the season on Sunday, February 12 at the A. O. Shirley Recreational Grounds.

The lone goal came from Terry Nanton in the 75th minute.

At the final whistle, Nanton was breathless and struggled to contain his joy at beating the Islanders in another cup final.

He said, “Yea man, I don’t even know how to explain how I feel; I'm just so happy.”

Coach of the Islanders team said, “We came in with some injuries and fatigue, which cost us, but at the end of the day congratulations to the Sugar Boys. They played well, fought hard and deserved the 1-0 win.”

The National League and President’s Cup trophy presentation included awards to Phillip Jules (Panthers F.C) as Youth Player of the Season, Maxcell Dabreo (Rebels F.C.) as Golden Glove, Kevin Fisher (Islanders F.C.) as Golden Boot, Ranalie Caines (Islanders F.C.) as Player of the Month and Richard Morgan (One Love F.C.) as League MVP.

Flow also presented phones to the individual winners.

The Islanders took home $5,000 as League Champions, while the Sugar Boys earned $1,000 as President's Cup Winners.
Copyright 2017 by Virgin Islands Platinum News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Readers' Opinion

Please note that the opinions posted are the opinions of its author and does not reflect the views of the management, staff, parent company or sponsors of Virgin Islands Platinum News.